2700 Neabsco Common Place, Suite 125, Woodbridge VA 22191

Civic association honors community-oriented citizens

Written by: What’s Up Prince William

Each day, citizens are saving lives, educating youth, and helping their community.

Many of those individuals were honored at the annual Community Recognition Banquet.

The Dale City Civic Association (DCCA) hosted the event at VFW Post 1503 in Dale City on Saturday.

“On behalf of the Prince William County School Board, I would like to convey my congratulations to our nominees and our winners for teachers of the year. I would like to convey our congratulations to the wonderful students you recognized here,” School Board Chairman Babur Lateef. “I’d like to thank the Dale City Civic Association for recognizing these wonderful folks and for all the great work you do in the community.”

Here are the award recipients:

Dale City Volunteer Fire Department

  • Firefighter of the Year — Technician Victor Angry
  • EMS Provider of the Year — Sergeant Stephanie DeFreitas
  • Officer of the Year — Lieutenant Patrick Palacios
  • Cadet of the Year — Firefighter Wyatt Trotman

Prince William County Police Department

  • Police Officer of the Year — Officer Sean A. Richards

Prince William County Department of Fire and Rescue

  • Firefighter of the Year — Technician II John Malley

Prince William County Sheriff’s Office

  • Deputy Sheriff of the Year — Kevin Truesdale

Sentara Northern Virginia Medical Center

  • Kathie Feeney Nurse of the Year — Cathy Gallagher

Community Awards

  • Kathleen Seefeldt Community Service Award — Roxie B. Curtis
  • Business of the Year — Derrick Wood, Dyvine BBQ in Motion
  • Youth Environmental Conservation Award — Aimen Khan, Freedom High School
  • Catherine Spellane Citizen of the Year — Rebecca Barnes, Prince William Living
  • John D. Jenkins Youth Citizen of the Year — Igra Noor, Freedom High School
  • Ernestine S. Jenkins Lifetime Volunteer Achievement Award — Erma H. Richardson

Prince William County Public Schools

  • Elementary School Teacher of the Year — Becky Sirag, Minnieville Elementary School
  • Middle School Teacher of the Year — Raegan Ray, Beville Middle School
  • High School Teacher of the Year — Jennifer Boyko, Freedom High School