2700 Neabsco Common Place, Suite 125, Woodbridge VA 22191

National Police Week (May 12-18)

Prince William County Police Department

Written By: Prince William County Police Department

National Police Week is May 12-18

The Board of County Supervisors today proclaimed May 12-18, 2024, as National Police Week and National Peace Officers Memorial Day on May 15. National Peace Officers Memorial Day has deep significance for #PWCPD as it pays tribute to our fallen officers: Ashley M. Guindon, Chris Yung, Philip M. Pennington and Paul T. White, Jr.

The Department observes National Police Week in two ways. All sworn staff will wear the black sash on our badges from 0000 hours on Sunday, May 12 until 2359 hours on Saturday, May 18. The Department will also observe one minute of radio silence at 0001 hours and at 1200 hours on May 15, and the names of Officers Guindon, Yung, Pennington and White will be read over the radio channels at those times. Emergency radio traffic will not be affected by the minute of silence.

The Department also honors the lives and service of the 20 men and women who lived, or served, in Prince William County and died in the line of duty:

• Justice of the Peace Thomas Simms Meredith, Prince William County Circuit Court – July 1922

• Trooper Jackie M. Bussard, Virginia State Police – May 1970

• Officer Paul T. White Jr., Prince William County Police – October 1973

• Investigator Claude Everett Seymour, Virginia State Police – April 1975

• Trooper Johnny R. Bowman, Virginia State Police – August 1984

• Sergeant John D. Conner III, Manassas City Police – July 1988

• Officer Phillip M. Pennington, Prince William County Police – November 1990

• Trooper Jose M. Cavazos, Virginia State Police – February 1993

• Special Agent William H. Christian Jr., Federal Bureau of Investigation – May 1995

• Detective John M. Gibson, United States Capitol Police – July 1998

• Officer Marlon E. Morales, Metro Transit Police – June 2001

• Special Agent Robert Martin Roth, Federal Bureau of Investigation – March 2008

• Second Lt. Francis Joseph Stecco, Fairfax County Police – October 2008

• Special Agent Chad L. Michael, Drug Enforcement Administration – October 2009

• Special Agent Forrest N. Leamon, Drug Enforcement Administration – October 2009

• Officer Paul Michael Dittamo, Washington D.C. Metropolitan Police – October 2010

• Officer Chris Yung, Prince William County Police – December 2012

• Officer Ashley M. Guindon, Prince William County Police – February 2016

• Special Agent Thomas J. Mohnal, Federal Bureau of Investigation – February 2021

• Deputy Sheriff David W. Myers Jr., Prince William County Sheriff’s Office – December 2021

**Thank you, Mike Beaty, for the photos of last night’s memorial and tribute service.